ISSF 2021 Held at Hohai University

Publisher:英文版管理员Release Time:2021-10-26Number of Views:10

The 5th International Symposium on Shallow Flows (ISSF2021) organized by the International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research (IAHR) was held in Hohai University from October 23 to 25. According to the requirements of epidemic prevention and control, ISSF2021 was held by means of online-offline and live streaming. Professor Joseph Hun-Wei Lee, Chairman of IAHR and Fellow of The Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor Zhang Jianyun, Chairman of ISSF2021 and Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, Professor Vladimir Nikora, Chairman of IAHR Technical Committee on Fluid Mechanics and Member of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor Li Yun, Vice President of Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute, and Professor Zheng Jinhai, Chairman of ISSF2021 Organizing Committee, Vice President of Hohai University, addressed the opening ceremony respectively. Professor Lu Chunhui, Executive Vice President of Yangtze Institute for Conservation and Development, presided over the opening ceremony.

ISSF2021 invited Professor Joseph Hun-Wei Lee from Macau University of Science and Technology, China, Professor Marcel Stive from the Delft University of Technology, Netherlands, Professor Levent Kavvas from the University of California, Davis, USA, Professor Vladimir Nikora from the University of Aberdeen, UK, Professor Joe Fernando from the University of Notre Dame, USA, and Professor Xin Pei from Hohai University to give the keynote speeches.

Four parallel sessions were set up, covering eight major directions of shallow flows research, and 16 well-known scholars from home and abroad were invited to give presentations. It attracted 1,065 scholars from 85 countries and regions, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, the Netherlands, Japan, Canada, Australia, and China, to participate in offline and online sessions. Over 30,000 people watched the live streaming online and interacted with questions. It selected six excellent presenters on-site from Dalian University of Technology, Sichuan University, Wuhan University, Nanjing Institute of Geography & Limnology of Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Hohai University after recommendation by parallel sessions and expert evaluation.

ISSF2021 is organized by the IAHR Technical Committee on Fluid Mechanics, undertaken by Hohai University and Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute, and co-organized by Yangtze Institute for Conservation and Development and State Key Laboratory of Hydrology-Water Resources and Hydraulic Engineering.